Sen. Patty MurrayPatricia (Patty) Lynn MurrayPublic option fades with little outcry from progressives Senate GOP blocks bill to combat gender pay gap OVERNIGHT ENERGY: Biden suspends Arctic oil leases issued under Trump |  Experts warn US needs to better prepare for hurricane season | Progressives set sights on Civilian Climate Corps MORE (D-Wash.) has won a fourth term, according to the Seattle Times, which called the race Thursday evening.

Murray defeated Republican Dino Rossi, a former candidate for governor.

Rossi conceded the race. He said in a statement: "This evening, I called Senator Murray to offer my congratulations on her re-election to the U.S. Senate."


After Rossi conceded, The Associated Press called the race for Murray.

Additional totals from King County, which houses Seattle, put Murray over the top, according to the Times's analysis.

Murray took about 68 percent of the nearly 70,000 votes counted there Thursday. The area was expected to break for the incumbent. Those votes widened her lead to more than 2 percentage points — or nearly 50,000 votes. That's up from her 14,000 vote Election Day lead.

Republican leaning Spokane and Clark counties gave Rossi additional votes but not enough to make up for Murray gains.

According to a Seattle Times analysis, Rossi would need to get about 54 percent of the estimated 591,000 uncounted ballots statewide to overcome Murray's lead.

The Washington race was the last chance for Republicans to gain a Senate seat this cycle. Colorado was called Wednesday for Democratic incumbent Michael BennetMichael Farrand BennetDemocrats make full-court press on expanded child tax credit Congress needs to fix the broken market for antibiotic development Schumer vows to only pass infrastructure package that is 'a strong, bold climate bill' MORE. The only outstanding Senate race is in Alaska, where Sen. Lisa MurkowskiLisa Ann MurkowskiSchumer vows next steps after 'ridiculous,' 'awful' GOP election bill filibuster Murkowski to vote 'no' on voting rights bill White House advisers huddle with Senate moderates on infrastructure MORE leads Republican Joe Miller. Murkowski ran as a write in after Miller beat her in the GOP primary but said she will stay a Republican if she wins. Democratic nominee Scott McAdams was running in a distant third and conceded. The final outcome is not expected to be known for weeks as legal challenges to the write-in ballots are expected.

Republicans picked up a total of six Senate seats this cycle.

— This post was updated at 9:14 p.m. and 9:35 p.m.