Nobel Prize in Medicine split between three scientists for work on cells
© Getty Images

The Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine was awarded jointly to three scientists on Monday for their work on cells.

William Kaelin Jr., Peter Ratcliffe and Gregg Semenza were chosen for the prestigious award for "their discoveries of how cells sense and adapt to oxygen availability.”


While the role of oxygen in converting food to energy has long been known, an understanding of how cells adapt to changing oxygen levels remained unknown.


The scientists' work in that field opens possibilities for developing new strategies to fight anemia, cancer and many other diseases.

The other major Nobel Prizes, including for physics, chemistry, literature and peace, will be announced later this week.

James Allison and Tasuku Honjo took home the prize in physiology or medicine last year for their work on immunotherapy.