Google creates $4M crisis fund
© Getty Images

Google has created a crisis fund in response to President Trump’s executive order blocking refugees and people from seven predominantly Muslim countries from entering the United States, USA Today reported Sunday evening.

Google has put $2 million into the fund, which can be matched by up to $2 million from employees.

All donations will go to four organizations: the American Civil Liberties Union, the Immigrant Legal Resource Center, the International Rescue Committee and the United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees (UNHRC).

It's the largest fund Google has created, according to USA Today.

News of the crisis fund came a day after Google CEO Sundar Pichai criticized Trump’s executive order in a memo to employees.

The ban impacts 187 Google employees, Pichai wrote.

“It’s painful to see the personal cost of this executive order on our colleagues,” he said. “We’ve always made our view on immigration issues known publicly and will continue to do so.”

In a statement to The Hill, a Google spokesperson reiterated Pichai’s concerns.

“We’re concerned about the impact of this order and any proposals that could impose restrictions on Googlers and their families, or that could create barriers to bringing great talent to the United States,” Google said. “We’ll continue to make our views on these issues known to leaders in Washington and elsewhere.”

Google is one of a host of tech companies criticizing Trump's order.

Apple, Facebook, Microsoft, IBM, Twitter, Airbnb and Lyft, among other companies, have also criticized it.

Starbucks CEO Howard Schultz pledged to hire 10,000 refugees in response to the executive order.


“We are living in an unprecedented time, one in which we are witness to the conscience of our country, and the promise of the American Dream, being called into question,” Schultz said in a memo to all employees Sunday.

Trump has defended the order, saying the media has falsely portrayed the order as a Muslim ban.

It indefinitely ends the refugee program resettling Syrian refugees, suspends a broader refugee resettlement program and temporarily suspends the entry of people from seven mostly Muslim nations: Iran, Iraq, Somalia, Sudan, Syria and Yemen. The administration said Sunday that permanent U.S. residents from those countries would be allowed to travel to the United States.