Trump, Pelosi on shortlist for Time Person of the Year

Greg Nash

House Speaker Nancy Pelosi (D-Calif.) and President Trump have both made the shortlist to be named 2019’s Time Person of the Year, “Today” revealed Monday. 

The title is given annually to a person, group or concept that has influenced the year. 

Along with the top politicians, the NBC morning show revealed eight other potential “person of the year” contenders. 

Among them is the anonymous whistleblower who spurred the House impeachment inquiry into Trump after raising concerns over a call between Trump and Ukrainian President Volodymyr Zelensky.


U.S. soccer star Megan Rapinoe, one of the outspoken champion athletes on the World Cup-winning U.S. Women’s National Team, is also on the shortlist. 

Facebook founder and CEO Mark Zuckerberg, who has faced controversy over the social media company’s policies and has appeared before Congress this year, and Swedish teen climate activist Greta Thunberg are also prominent names on the list. 

Trump is not the only world leader to be a finalist.

Chinese President Xi Jinping and New Zealand Prime Minister Jacinda Arden are also in consideration. Arden was thrust into the international spotlight after a March mass shooting targeting mosques in New Zealand; she strongly condemned the attack and extremist views and celebrated diversity in New Zealand in the wake of the tragedy.

The Hong Kong protesters are also under consideration. The pro-democracy protests started in June over a bill that would’ve allowed extradition to China, which critics feared would violate the 1997 “one country, two systems” agreement. The bill was withdrawn in September, but the protests have escalated and pro-democracy candidates made major gains in Hong Kong’s local elections last month. 

The list will be cut by five people on “Today” on Tuesday, with the “person of the year” being named on Wednesday.

Tags Donald Trump Greta Thunberg Mark Zuckerberg Megan Rapinoe Nancy Pelosi Person of the Year Rudy Giuliani The Today Show Time

Copyright 2023 Nexstar Media Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

See all Hill.TV See all Video

Most Popular

Load more


See all Video