Cori Bush shares picture of expanded 'Squad'
© Cori Bush

Rep. Cori Bush (D-Mo.) shared a photo of an extended group of lawmakers dubbed “the Squad” after lawmakers were officially sworn into office as part of the new Congress on Sunday.  

“Squad up,” the freshman lawmaker wrote, sharing a photo of herself alongside Reps. Rashida TlaibRashida Harbi TlaibHouse rejects GOP resolution to censure Waters Can policing be reformed? GOP believes Democrats handing them winning 2022 campaign MORE (D-Mich.), Ilhan OmarIlhan OmarSharpton eulogizes Daunte Wright: 'Tags of racism' have expired Left feels empowered after Biden backtracks on refugees Lawmakers react to guilty verdict in Chauvin murder trial: 'Our work is far from done' MORE (D-Minn.), Jamaal Bowman (D-N.Y.), Alexandria Ocasio-CortezAlexandria Ocasio-CortezEvery day should be Earth Day Liberal advocacy group stirs debate, discomfort with primary challenges Progressives divided over efforts to repeal SALT cap MORE (D-N.Y.) and Ayanna PressleyAyanna PressleyPressley: Black men 'deserve to grow old' Pelosi on power in DC: 'You have to seize it' FDA ends restrictions on mailing abortion pills during pandemic MORE (D-Mass.).

“The Squad” became a nickname to refer to the high-profile group of progressive lawmakers including Tlaib, Omar, Ocasio-Cortez and Pressley, who were all elected to the House in 2018.

Bowman also shared the photo, tweeting that “Our squad is big!”   


“Let’s go!” Ocasio-Cortez added, as well as the original members of the group.


This is not the first time Tlaib, Omar, Ocasio-Cortez and Pressley have said that fellow lawmakers were also part of the group.

Rep. Bill PascrellWilliam (Bill) James PascrellLawmakers launch bipartisan caucus on SALT deduction Five hurdles Democrats face to pass an infrastructure bill Progressives fight for leverage amid ever-slimming majority MORE (D-N.J.) jokingly asked his colleagues if he could join after the satirical website The Onion tweeted an image of Pascrell standing near Omar with the caption “Bill Pascrell Quietly Asks Ilhan Omar If He Can Be Part Of The Squad.” 


The 117th Congress was officially sworn in on Sunday, bringing a slate of new lawmakers to the nation’s capital. House lawmakers also elected Speaker Nancy PelosiNancy PelosiOvernight Health Care: Pelosi pushes for drug pricing measure | South Africa to resume administering Johnson & Johnson vaccine | Early data indicate Pfizer, Moderna vaccines safe for pregnant women Allow a vote on the 'Born-Alive Abortion Survivors Protection Act' Female Republicans 'horrified' by male GOP lawmaker's description of Cheney: report MORE (D-Calif.) to her fourth term in the role with 216 votes to 209 votes for House Minority Leader Kevin McCarthyKevin McCarthyTim Scott to deliver GOP response to Biden's speech to Congress GOP state attorneys general urge Biden, Congress not to expand Supreme Court Pelosi: Jan. 6 commission must focus only on insurrection MORE (R-Calif.)