Six Democratic senators and one Republican voted to end debate on Ben Bernanke's nomination for a second term as Federal Reserve chairman, but ultimately opposed his nomination.

77 senators from both parties voted to invoke cloture on Bernanke's nomination Thursday afternoon, though only 70 voted to confirm the Fed Chairman in a vote immediately afterward.

Democratic Sens. Barbara Boxer (Calif.), Al Franken (D-Minn.), Tom Harkin (Iowa), Kaufman (Del.), Sheldon Whitehouse (R.I.), and Byron Dorgan (N.D.). voted to end debate on the matter, but voted against the Fed chairman's nomination.

Sen. George LeMieux (R-Fla.) also voted for cloture, but not confirmation -- the only Republican lawmaker to do so.

The confirmation ended a few tense days of vote-wrangling by leaders in the Senate after a flurry of senators announced their opposition to Bernanke, raising the specter of a defeat that would have reverberated throughout financial markets.

A majority of the members in each party voted for Bernanke's final confirmation. 48 Democrats favored it, while 12 opposed it; 22 Republicans voted for the Fed's confirmation, while 18 opposed.

Bernanke's confirmation comes at virtually the last minute, with his term expiring at the end of the month, on Sunday.