Rep. Mark Kirk wins Republican Senate nod for Obama's old seat

Rep. Mark Kirk (R-Ill.) has won the Republican primary for President Obama’s former Senate seat.

Kirk led developer Patrick Hughes 59-18 with 62 percent of precincts reporting.

Kirk’s conservative bona fides were in question from the start of the campaign, but Hughes wasn’t able to raise enough money to actively raise questions about Kirk’s record.

The congressman will await the winner of the Democratic primary between state Treasurer Alexi Giannoulias, former Chicago Inspector General David Hoffman and Chicago Urban League President Cheryle Robinson Jackson.

As of 10 p.m. eastern, Giannoulias led Hoffman 38-35.