Senate Republicans have picked Judd Gregg (N.H.), Mike Crapo (Idaho) and Tom Coburn (Okla.) as their representatives on the White House debt commission.

The three members will join Democrats, House Republicans and officials chosen by the Obama administration on a panel that will try to produce a plan to deal with the $12.5 trillion debt.


The Senate Republican picks were announced on the @Senate_GOPs Twitter stream.

Gregg was an obvious choice -- he proposed a bipartisan fiscal commission and serves as the ranking member of the Senate Budget Committee. By choosing Coburn, the Senate's "Dr. No," Senate Minority
Leader Mitch McConnell (R-Ky.) is sending a signal that Republicans will likely fight any fiscal reform package that includes tax increases.

Senate Democrats have named Dick Durbin (Ill.), Max Baucus (Mont.) and Kent Conrad (N.D.). House Democrats and Republicans have yet to name their members.

President Obama has chosen former GOP Sen. Alan Simpson (Wyo.) and former Clinton White House chief of staff Erskine Bowles as the panel's co-chairmen.