Rep. Nancy Pelosi (D-Calif.) was, of course, not expected to win Wednesday's House Speaker election, which perhaps made it easier for some Democrats to not vote for her.

Several members voted for Rep. Heath Shuler (D-N.C.), who ran unsuccessfully to lead Democrats as minority leader in the 112th Congress. Democratic Reps. Jason Altmire (Pa.), Joe Donnelly (Ind.) and Jim Matheson (Utah) were among those voting for Shuler, who also voted for himself.

Shuler and Matheson are both leaders in the Democratic Blue Dog Coalition.

Gabrielle Giffords (D-Ariz.) voted for Rep. John Lewis (D-Ga.).