The House Energy and Commerce Committee, which will play a key role in Republican efforts to roll back the healthcare reform law, has announced new and returning staff for the 112th Congress. Chairman Fred Upton (R-Mich.) said in a statement that his team will help "repeal the budget-busting health law, fight rampant regulations, fortify our energy security, cut spending, and reduce the size of government."

New staffers include Deputy General Counsel Michael Bloomquist, Chief Counsel for the Subcommittee on Oversight and Investigations Todd Harrison, Chief Counsel for the Subcommittee on Environment and the Economy David McCarthy, Senior Health Policy Adviser John O'Shea, Senior Health Policy Adviser Julie Goon, Professional Staff Member Jeff Mortier, Special Assistant to the Chairman Andy Duberstein, and Special Assistant to the Staff Director Charlotte Savercool. In December, the committee named Gary Andres as staff director to the committee.

Returning staff include Chief Investigative Counsel to the Subcommittee on Oversight and Investigations Alan Slobodin, Senior Energy Counsel Mary Neumayr, Senior Environmental Policy Adviser Jerry Couri, and Professional Staff Member Garrett Golding.