Republican Reps. Charlie Bass (N.H.) and Dave Reichert (Wash.) last week consistently voted against several Republican amendments to defund various environmental regulations, staking out a narrow space among GOP members who generally supported these measures.

Bass and Reichert together voted against GOP proposals to block funding that otherwise would be used to modify the national primary ambient air-quality standard, classify fossil-fuel combustion waste as a hazardous material and implement mining regulations from the EPA. They also voted against efforts to defund the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change and the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration.

Bass was reelected in 2010 after having represented New Hampshire's second district from 1995 to 2007. According to his site, he supports low taxes and a balanced budget and opposes the healthcare reform law. But he also supports the promotion of "clean, alternative energies that will lessen our dependence on foreign sources of oil."

Reichert is a former Air Force reservist and a sheriff who also supports efforts to find a balance between expanding economic growth and "protecting our precious natural resources." In the last Congress, Reichert supported a cap and trade system and opposed proposals to extract oil in the Arctic.

Other Republicans who voted against one or more of the GOP environmental amendments to the FY 2011 spending bill were Reps. Brian Bilbray (Calif.), Bill Cassidy (La.), Mike Fitzpatrick (Pa.), Chuck Fleischmann (Tenn.), Randy Forbes (Va.), Jeff Fortenberry (Neb.), Jim Gerlach (Pa.), Nan Hayworth (N.Y.), Tim Johnson (Ill.), Leonard Lance (N.J.), Steve LaTourette (Ohio), Frank LoBiondo (N.J.), Erik Paulsen (Minn.), Todd Platts (Pa.), Scott Rigell (Va.), Chris Smith (N.J.), Michael Turner (Ohio), Daniel Webster (Fla.) and Frank Wolf (Va.).