Six Democrats joined all House Republicans to hold former Internal Revenue Service official Lois Lerner in contempt of Congress on Wednesday.

Most of the six Democrats face tough reelection battles this year: Reps. Ron Barber (Ariz.), John Barrow (Ga.), Collin Peterson (Minn.), Mike McIntyre (N.C.), Nick RahallNick Joe RahallOn The Trail: The political losers of 2020 We shouldn't allow politics to impede disaster relief Break the cycle of partisanship with infant, child health care programs MORE (W.Va.) and Patrick Murphy (Fla.).


McIntyre, who frequently votes with Republicans on some key issues such as President Obama's signature healthcare law, is retiring.

Rahall is facing one of the toughest reelection races of his career, as is Barber.

The National Republican Congressional Committee quickly pounced on the other Democrats who opposed the contempt resolution. 

"House Democrats aren’t just stonewalling the investigation into Benghazi, they also continue to hinder the investigation into the IRS," the NRCC said in a release.

Barrow, McIntyre, Peterson and Rahall also voted to hold Attorney General Eric Holder in contempt in 2012 for not complying with a congressional subpoena.

Seventeen Democrats joined all Republicans to support that contempt resolution.