Two House Republicans have introduced bills to institute term limits for members of Congress.

Reps. Matt SalmonMatthew (Matt) James SalmonTrump endorses Kari Lake to succeed 'RINO' Doug Ducey as Arizona governor The Hill's Morning Report - After high-stakes Biden-Putin summit, what now? Former Rep. Matt Salmon launches gubernatorial bid in Arizona MORE (R-Ariz.) and Andy BarrAndy BarrThe IMF has lost its way Republicans press Biden administration to maintain sanctions against Taliban World Bank suspends aid to Afghanistan after Taliban takeover MORE (R-Ky.) introduced similar, but competing, bills in the opening days of the new Congress.


Under Salmon's measure, House members would be limited to three two-year terms. A lawmaker elected to fill a vacancy would still be considered as serving for a term they fill the seat for more than one year.

Meanwhile, senators would be limited to two six-year terms. A vacancy would be considered one term if a person fills a Senate seat for more than three years.

Salmon himself pledged to adhere to term limits. He first served in the House from 1994 to 2000 and returned to Congress in 2013.

The Arizona Republican argued term limits ensure lawmakers don't overstay their time in Congress.

"Now more than ever, citizens need to see accountability and responsibility from their elected representatives at all levels of government," Salmon said in a statement. "Sadly, many today don't feel that their elected members of Congress are accountable to their voice, but rather to the voices of special interest groups."

Barr's bill would also limit senators to two terms, but would allow House members to serve up to six consecutive terms. The rules for whether vacancy fillings count as a term are the same as in Salmon's legislation.

- This post was updated at 6:02 p.m.