A resolution introduced in the House proposes amending the Constitution so that only marriages between men and women are legal.

The amendment as outlined in theĀ resolution, offered by Rep. Tim HuelskampTimothy (Tim) Alan HuelskampManchin may be the only one who can save the Hyde Amendment Democratic-linked group runs ads in Kansas GOP Senate primary Cure for cancer would become more likely if FDA streamlined the drug approval process MORE (R-Kan.), would allow states not to recognize same-sex marriages.


"Marriage in the United States shall consist only of the union of a man and a woman. Neither this Constitution, nor the constitution of any State, shall be construed to require that marriage or the legal incidents thereof be conferred upon any union other than the union of a man and a woman," the proposed amendment reads.

Amending the Constitution requires ratification from three-fourths of state legislatures.

Huelskamp's resolution, which currently has 29 Republican co-sponsors, comes in light of an Alabama judge ordering probate judges earlier this month to ignore a federal ruling to allow same-sex marriages.

The Supreme Court will also consider a case this summer determining whether same-sex marriages should be legally recognized in all 50 states. Oral arguments are slated for April, with a decision expected by the end of June.

In a House floor speech, Huelskamp said the institution of marriage is being "trampled upon" by the recent rulings in favor of gay marriage and needs clarification from Congress.

"The plain and simple truth is this: marriage is vital to our economic success, cultural well-being, and our children. And sadly, it is being trampled upon as we speak," Huelskamp said.

Huelskamp accused judges of allowing their personal biases to cloud rulings on same-sex marriage.

"Unelected judges from all across the country are forcing their personal feelings and biases against traditional marriage upon the American people. This judicial activism has thrown the social and legal status of marriage into chaos," Huelskamp said.

The 29 Republican lawmakers who have signed on as co-sponsors of Huelskamp's resolution are Reps. Jeff Duncan (S.C.), Joe Pitts (Pa.), Steven Palazzo (Miss.), Steve King (Iowa), Randy Weber (Texas), Richard Hudson (N.C.), John Fleming (La.), Joe Wilson (S.C.), Walter Jones (N.C.), Bob Latta (Ohio), Rick Allen (Ga.), Randy Hultgren (Ill.), Sam Johnson (Texas), Jody Hice (Ga.), Robert Pittenger (N.C.), Brian Babin (Texas), Steve Pearce (N.M.), Doug LaMalfa (Calif.), Andy Harris (Md.), Glenn Grothman (Wis.), Louie Gohmert (Texas), Bill Flores (Texas), Tim Walberg (Mich.), Jim Jordan (Ohio), Keith Rothfus (Pa.), Randy Neugebauer (Texas), Bruce Westerman (Ark.), Mike Kelly (Pa.) and Bob Gibbs (Ohio).