Two House members have established a congressional caucus for lawmakers who support term limits.

Reps. Rod Blum (R-Iowa) and Beto O'RourkeRobert (Beto) Francis O'RourkeTrump recounts 2016 feud with Cruz at Houston campaign rally Election Countdown: Takeaways from heated Florida governor's debate | DNC chief pushes back on 'blue wave' talk | Manchin faces progressive backlash | Trump heads to Houston rally | Obama in Las Vegas | Signs of huge midterm turnout ABC News reporter labels Beto O'Rourke a 'rock star' during interview MORE (D-Texas) will serve as co-chairs of the Congressional Term Limits Caucus.

Blum argued that term limits would promote "fresh, innovate ideas and the courage to implement them" since lawmakers wouldn't be worried about their reelection prospects.


"The root of this problem is that politicians are incentivized by the system to care more about retaining their position than doing what is best for the country. Our founding fathers never intended for public service to be a career, rather, serving in Congress was designed to be a temporary sacrifice made for the public good," Blum said in a statement.

Blum, who voted against Rep. John Boehner's (R-Ohio) bid for a third term as Speaker in January, expressed support for term limits over the course of his 2014 campaign. The Iowa Republican pledged to co-sponsor an initiative proposing that House members only serve three terms.

O'Rourke introduced a bill in 2013 to allow Congress to establish term limits, but it did not receive legislative action.