The Republicans who nearly derailed the THUD bill
© Greg Nash

A diverse coalition of hard-line conservatives and centrist Republicans came together late Tuesday night to nearly deprive the annual 2016 spending bill for transportation and housing programs of the votes to pass.

The measure came close to failing on the House floor in a razor-thin 216-210 vote that could have delivered a blow to GOP leaders. 

The $55.3 billion measure contains cuts to Amtrak as well as the D.C. Metro system that many centrists opposed. Rep. Bold Dold (R-Ill.), a top Democratic target who represents suburbs outside Chicago, tried and failed to increase funding for Amtrak. He ultimately voted against the bill.


Similarly, Rep. Barbara Comstock (R-Va.), who represents a northern Virginia district near Washington, D.C., cosponsored an amendment to restore funds for the capital's subway system. That amendment was ultimately struck down on a point of order because it lacked offsets. Like Dold, Comstock voted against the underlying legislation.

Heritage Action, an influential conservative group, issued a key vote this week against the bill, arguing it contained too much funding for infrastucture projects. Many of the House's staunchest conservative lawmakers joined the centrists in opposing the bill, including Reps. Mo BrooksMorris (Mo) Jackson BrooksGOP leaders dead set against Roy Moore in Alabama Poll: Roy Moore leading Alabama GOP field Alabama Holocaust Commission condemns GOP lawmaker's use of Hitler phrase 'big lie' MORE (Ala.), Ken Buck (Colo.), Louie GohmertLouis (Louie) Buller GohmertHillicon Valley: Facebook, Google face tough questions on white nationalism | Nielsen's exit raisers cyber worries | McConnell calls net neutrality bill 'dead on arrival' | Facebook changes terms for EU data Republicans offer 'free market alternative' to paid family leave YouTube shuts down comments on House hearing on white nationalism over hateful remarks MORE (Texas), Paul GosarPaul Anthony GosarHouse Freedom Caucus votes to condemn Amash's impeachment comments Amash storm hits Capitol Hill House passes tribal land bills after votes were canceled following Trump tweet MORE (Ariz.), Jody Hice (Ga.), Tim Huelskamp (Kan.), Thomas Massie (Ky.) and Mark Sanford (S.C.).

Just three Democrats, all of whom are centrists, voted for the bill: Reps. Brad Ashford (Neb.), Henry Cuellar (Texas) and Gwen Graham (Fla.).

Below is a list of the 31 Republicans who voted against the legislation:

1. Justin AmashJustin AmashHouse Democrats press leaders to start Trump impeachment Schumer declines to endorse Amash's comments on 'impeachable conduct' by Trump Amash won't rule out Libertarian challenge to Trump MORE (Mich.)

2. Mo Brooks (Ala.)

3. Ken Buck (Colo.)

4. Buddy Carter (Ga.)

5. Barbara Comstock (Va.)

6. Ryan Costello (Pa.)

7. Bob Dold (Ill.)

8. Dan Donovan (N.Y.)

9. Michael FitzpatrickMichael (Mike) G. FitzpatrickPelosi: Mexico should not worry about Trump House lawmakers ask for answers on cooked ISIS intel allegations The Republicans who nearly derailed the THUD bill MORE (Pa.)

10. Trent FranksHarold (Trent) Trent FranksArizona New Members 2019 Cook shifts 8 House races toward Dems Freedom Caucus members see openings in leadership MORE (Ariz.)

11. Chris Gibson (N.Y.)

12. Louie Gohmert (Texas)

13. Paul Gosar (Ariz.)

14. Jody Hice (Ga.)

15. Tim Huelskamp (Kan.)

16. Walter Jones (N.C.)

17. John Katko (N.Y.)

18. Peter King (N.Y.)

19. Doug Lamborn (Colo.)

20. Cynthia LummisCynthia Marie LummisFormer Wyoming GOP lawmaker mulling Senate bid to replace Enzi Liz Cheney faces a big decision on her future Trump picks ex-oil lobbyist David Bernhardt for Interior secretary MORE (Wyo.)

21. Thomas Massie (Ky.)

22. Tom McClintock (Calif.)

23. Martha McSally (Ariz.)

24. Patrick Meehan (Pa.)

25. Joe Pitts (Pa.)

26. Bill Posey (Fla.)

27. John Ratcliffe (Texas)

28. Dana Rohrabacher (Calif.)

29. Mark Sanford (S.C.)

30. Jim SensenbrennerFrank (Jim) James SensenbrennerHouse fails to override Trump veto on border wall The 25 Republicans who defied Trump on emergency declaration Hillicon Valley: US threatens to hold intel from Germany over Huawei | GOP senator targets FTC over privacy | Bipartisan bill would beef up 'internet of things' security | Privacy groups seize on suspended NSA program | Tesla makes U-turn MORE (Wis.)

31. Chris Smith (N.J.)