After ‘no’ vote on trade, Meadows loses subcommittee chair

Greg Nash
House Oversight and Government Reform Chairman Jason Chaffetz (R-Utah) has removed Rep. Mark Meadows (R-N.C.) from his post as a subcommittee chairman, according to a Chaffetz spokesperson.
The removal comes after Meadows bucked House Speaker John Boehner (R-Ohio) in opposing a vote that would give President Obama expanded powers to “fast track” his trade agenda.
{mosads}The fast-track measure eventually passed Thursday after a second vote on the issue.
Earlier this week, House GOP leaders nixed three conservatives who voted against a procedural vote on the trade bill off the whip team.
Reps. Cynthia Lummis (Wyo.), Steve Pearce (N.M.) and Trent Franks (Ariz.) are no longer part of the whip team. It had been speculated the House GOP might take further action against other Republicans who voted against the trade deal.
Meadows also ran afoul of leadership when he voted against Boehner for House Speaker in January. 
Tags Jason Chaffetz Mark Meadows

Copyright 2023 Nexstar Media Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

See all Hill.TV See all Video

Most Popular

Load more


See all Video