The House voted Tuesday to begin negotiations with the Senate on legislation to renew the No Child Left Behind law.

Both chambers passed their respective versions of the bill in July. Lawmakers hope to finish conference negotiations by the end of the year to send a final reconciled measure to President Obama’s desk.

The original 2002 law expired in 2007. In the absence of Congress passing a reauthorization since then, the Obama administration has been issuing waivers since 2011 following requests from school districts and governors. 


The House version, which gives states more control over education policy, is more conservative than the bipartisan Senate bill. 

But it’s unclear whether a compromise could win President Obama’s signature, since his administration has expressed opposition to both bills. 

Ten House Republicans were named to the conference committee: House Education and the Workforce Committee Chairman John Kline (Minn.), Virginia FoxxVirginia Ann FoxxOvernight Health Care — Presented by Partnership for America's Health Care Future — Trump official declines to detail plans if ObamaCare struck down | DEA unveils rule for opioid manufacturers | Republican tells Zuckerberg to allow anti-vax content 58 GOP lawmakers vote against disaster aid bill The GOP's commitment to electing talented women can help party retake the House MORE (N.C.), Phil Roe (Tenn.), Glenn Thompson (Pa.), Brett GuthrieSteven (Brett) Brett GuthrieShimkus announces he will stick with plan to retire after reconsidering Hillicon Valley: Tech grapples with California 'gig economy' law | FCC to investigate Sprint over millions in subsidies | House bill aims to protect telecom networks | Google wins EU fight over 'right to be forgotten' | 27 nations sign cyber rules pact House bill aims to secure telecom networks against foreign interference MORE (Ky.), Todd Rokita (Ind.), Luke Messer (Ind.), Glenn Grothman (Wis.), Steve Russell (Okla.) and Carlos Curbelo (Fla.).

Seven Democrats were also appointed: Rep. Bobby ScottRobert (Bobby) Cortez ScottEducation Department finalizes new regulations to relax college-accreditation requirements Trump admin gave over million in aid to students at unaccredited for-profit colleges CBO: Pelosi bill to lower drug prices saves Medicare 5 billion MORE (Va.), the top Democrat on the Education panel, as well as Susan Davis (Calif.), Marcia FudgeMarcia Louise FudgeHillicon Valley: Zuckerberg to testify on Libra | Extremists find home on Telegram app | Warren blasts Facebook for not removing anti-Biden ad | California outlaws facial recognition in police body cameras | China rips US tech sanctions House Democrats introduce new legislation to combat foreign election interference Harris wins endorsement of former CBC Chairwoman Marcia Fudge MORE (Ohio), Jared Polis (Colo.), Frederica WilsonFrederica Patricia WilsonBlack lawmakers condemn Trump's 'lynching' remarks Ten notable Democrats who do not favor impeachment Assault weapons ban picks up steam in Congress MORE (Fla.), Suzanne BonamiciSuzanne Marie BonamiciScientists join Democrats in panning EPA's 'secret science' rule Overnight Energy: Democrats call for Ross to resign over report he threatened NOAA officials | Commerce denies report | Documents detail plan to decentralize BLM | Lawmakers demand answers on bee-killing pesticide Oregon Democrats push EPA to justify use of pesticide 'highly toxic' to bees MORE (Ore.) and Katherine Clark (Mass.).