Fifth Democrat announces boycott of Trump’s inauguration

Moriah Ratner

Rep. Raúl Grijalva (D-Ariz.) announced from the House floor on Friday that he plans to boycott President-elect Donald Trump’s inauguration next week.

The co-chairman of the Congressional Progressive Caucus is the fifth House Democrat to publicly vow not to attend the inauguration on Jan. 20.

Grijalva said he’s going to meet with constituents along with immigration and climate change activists in his district instead.

{mosads}”My absence is not motivated by disrespect for the office or motivated by disrespect for the government that we have in this great democracy. But as an individual act, yes, of defiance, at the disrespect shown to millions and millions of Americans by this incoming administration and by the actions we are taking in this Congress,” Grijalva said in a brief House floor speech.

“Rather than participate in the inauguration, I will be participating in my district and reaffirming and renewing this democracy and the people that are part of it.”

Four other Democrats, all House members, have made a point of announcing in recent weeks that they’re skipping Trump’s inauguration.

Reps. Luis Gutiérrez (Ill.), Jared Huffman (Calif.), Katherine Clark (Mass.) and Barbara Lee (Calif.) have also issued public statements to announce their boycotts.

Tags Donald Trump
See all Hill.TV See all Video

Most Popular

Load more


See all Video