Freshman Rep. Jeff Van DrewJeff Van DrewDemocrat votes 'no' on Speaker before reversing course The 15 Democrats who voted against Pelosi House elects Pelosi to second Speakership MORE's (D-N.J.) first vote for Speaker was changed to "present" after the chair ruled he couldn't vote "no" on the floor on Thursday.

Van Drew was one of the 15 Democrats who opted not to support Speaker Nancy PelosiNancy Patricia D'Alesandro PelosiSunday shows preview: Shutdown negotiations continue after White House immigration proposal Rove warns Senate GOP: Don't put only focus on base Senate to take up Trump's border-immigration plan next week MORE (D-Calif.) for the most powerful position in the House.

While most members traditionally vote for a person, Van Drew took an unprecedented route, shouting "no" during the roll call vote.

The New Jersey Democrat had vowed to buck his party and vote against Pelosi during his House campaign.

After making a number of deals with potential detractors, Pelosi ultimately secured the Speaker's gavel, bringing in 220 votes from within her caucus.

The California Democrat made history, becoming the first woman to serve as Speaker of the House twice.