Most ‘Welch letter’ signatories vote for GOP debt limit bill

House Democratic leaders such as Minority Leader Nancy Pelosi (D-Calif.) and Minority Whip Steny Hoyer (D-Md.) voted against the GOP bill, after charging that it was not a serious attempt to address the looming debt ceiling problem. In the end, 97 Democrats bucked their encouragement to vote against it.

Thirty-nine of the Welch letter signatories followed their leadership on the vote by voting against it: Reps. Joe Baca (Calif.), Tammy Baldwin (Wis.), Leonard Boswell (Iowa), Corrine Brown (Fla.), G.K. Butterfield (NC), Lois Capps (Calif.), Russ Carnahan (Mo.), David Cicilline (RI), Hansen Clarke (Mich.), John Conyers (Mich.), Jerry Costello (Ill.), Mark Critz (Pa.), Elijah Cummings (Md.), Peter DeFazio (Ore.), Ted Deutch (Fla.), Lloyd Doggett (Texas), Alcee Hastings (Fla.), Maurice Hinchey (NY), Jay Inslee (Wash.), Steve Israel (NY), Hank Johnson (Ga.), Marcy Kaptur (Ohio), Bill Keating (Mass.), John Lewis (Ga.), Gregory Meeks (NY), Collin Peterson (Minn.), Jared Polis (Colo.), Charles Rangel (NY), Laura Richardson (Calif.), Tim Ryan (Ohio), Loretta Sanchez (Calif.), David Scott (Ga.), Louise Slaughter (NY), Betty Sutton (Ohio), Mike Thompson (Calif.), and David Wu (Ore.).

Earlier in the day, Welch predicted that the controversial vote would split House Democrats, a prediction that proved accurate. While 97 Democrats supported it, 82 opposed it.
Tags Corrine Brown G.K. Butterfield Tammy Baldwin

Copyright 2023 Nexstar Media Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

See all Hill.TV See all Video

Most Popular

Load more


See all Video