The Senate voted to end debate on two nominees to the Nuclear Regulatory Commission.

In a 52-39 vote, the Senate advanced the nomination of Jeff Baran and advanced the nomination of Steve Burns in a 54-37 vote on Monday.


Final confirmation votes on both nominees are expected at 2:15 p.m. on Tuesday.

"We are down on the membership of the Nuclear Regulatory Commission," Senate Environment and Public Works Committee Chairwoman Barbara BoxerBarbara Levy BoxerBiden plays it cool as Trump refuses to concede The Hill's Morning Report - Presented by Facebook - Biden, Harris launch Trump offensive in first joint appearance Bottom line MORE (D-Calif.) said ahead of the vote. "We need to fill these positions."

Her committee cleared the two nominations last week. Sen. James Inhofe (R-Okla.) was the only Republican on the committee who voted to advance both nominees.

“It is vital to the security and reliability of our nation's energy needs for the members of the Nuclear Regulatory Commission to be independent, thoughtful, and highly qualified,” said ranking member David VitterDavid Bruce VitterBottom line Lysol, Charmin keep new consumer brand group lobbyist busy during pandemic Bottom line MORE (R-La.). “While the nominees' dedication to public service is clearly demonstrated, I question the potential of their contribution to the Nuclear Regulatory Commission.”

The Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC) is comprised of five members who are confirmed for five-year terms. They advise the president on nuclear policy and regulate nuclear reactors and material within the United States.