Former Minnesota Lt. Gov. Tina Smith (D) was sworn in on Wednesday to fill the Senate seat vacated by former Sen. Al FrankenAlan (Al) Stuart FrankenDem voters split on importance of women atop the ticket in 2020 Gillibrand announces exploratory committee to run for president on Colbert The Hill’s 12:30 Report: Trump AG pick Barr grilled at hearing | Judge rules against census citizenship question | McConnell blocks second House bill to reopen government MORE (D).

Vice President Pence administered the oath to Smith from the Senate floor, with former Vice President Walter Mondale, Sen. Amy KlobucharAmy Jean KlobucharCNN analyst Phil Mudd: Barr will ‘crush’ Trump administration 5 takeaways from Barr’s testimony Klobuchar dismisses mock campaign logo as something from 'very enthusiastic supporter' MORE (D-Minn.) and Senate Democratic leadership looking on from the chamber.


Pence and Smith took part in a mock swearing-in from the old Senate chamber.

The Senate also swore in Sen. Doug Jones (D-Ala.), who won last month’s special election to fill Attorney General Jeff SessionsJefferson (Jeff) Beauregard SessionsOvernight Health Care: Thousands more migrant children may have been separated | Senate rejects bill to permanently ban federal funds for abortion | Women's March to lobby for 'Medicare for All' Acting AG Whitaker's wife defends him in lengthy email to journalist Watchdog: Thousands more migrant children separated from parents than previously known MORE’s old seat.

“I’d like to extend a particular welcome to our two new senators who were just sworn in,” Senate Majority Leader Mitch McConnellAddison (Mitch) Mitchell McConnellTSA agents protest government shutdown at Pittsburgh airport The case for Russia sanctions Pompeo planning to meet with Pat Roberts amid 2020 Senate speculation MORE (R-Ky.) said later from the Senate floor.

Smith was appointed to the Minnesota seat last month after Franken said he would resign following several allegations of sexual harassment and groping.

Franken announced during a defiant Dec. 7 floor speech that he would step down after pressure grew for him to resign over the accusations. He formally submitted his letter to Democratic Minnesota Gov. Mark Dayton on Tuesday.

“I am grateful to Minnesotans for giving me the chance to serve our state and our nation, and I am proud to have worked on their behalf,” Franken wrote in the resignation letter.

Franken’s resignation sparks a special election set for 2018 for the final two years of his Senate term.

Smith, who some observers had speculated would be a caretaker, had said she plans to run in the 2018 election.

A second election will take place in 2020 for a full six-year term.

Dayton announced that he was selecting Smith last month, marking the first time Minnesota has been represented by two female senators.

Smith, who served as Minnesota’s lieutenant governor for roughly three years, brings the total number of female senators in the Senate up to 22 — a record for the upper chamber.

Four states — Minnesota, California, New Hampshire and Washington — now have two female senators.