Senate to mark Reagan’s 100th birthday

The Senate will honor President Reagan on Thursday with a two-hour tribute to mark what would have been his 100th birthday on Feb. 6. 

The Senate tribute is just one of several events that will mark the Reagan centennial; more than two dozen members of the House are expected to honor Reagan in floor remarks on Feb. 9.

Thursday’s Senate speeches will begin at 1 p.m., starting with 10-minute remarks from Sen. Dianne Feinstein (D-Calif.), who serves on the Ronald Reagan Centennial Commission. Another Democrat, Sen. Jim Webb (Va.), who was secretary of the Navy under Reagan, is also on the commission and will also speak.

Majority Whip Dick Durbin (Ill.) is the third Democrat who will speak, and Independent Sen. Joe Lieberman (Conn.) is also scheduled to deliver remarks.

{mosads}Republicans scheduled to honor Reagan are Sens. James Inhofe (Okla.), Johnny Isakson (Ga.), Mark Kirk (Ill.), Lamar Alexander (Tenn.), John McCain (Ariz.), Roy Blunt (Mo.) and Orrin Hatch (Utah).

President Obama formed the Reagan Commission in 2009, and Nancy Reagan personally asked Feinstein to serve on it. Earlier this week, the commission named three new members — Sen. Hatch and Reps. Silvestre Reyes (D-Texas) and Aaron Schock (R-Ill.).

Tags Dianne Feinstein Dick Durbin James Inhofe John McCain Johnny Isakson Lamar Alexander Mark Kirk Orrin Hatch Roy Blunt
See all Hill.TV See all Video