Getty Images

President Obama on Thursday unveiled his second-ever summer music playlist, a diverse set including R&B classics as well as fresher tunes.

{mosads}The 2016 list, divided into daytime and nighttime sets, includes tracks from Jay Z, Nas, Aretha Franklin, Prince, the Beach Boys, Wale, Billie Holiday, Janet Jackson and Chance the Rapper, among others.

The president released the list in the midst of his two-week family vacation in Martha’s Vineyard, Mass. It’s a followup to his first shareable playlist, which he put on Spotify last summer.

The lists include several upbeat rap and R&B tracks, including Wale’s “LoveHate Thing,” “The Man” by Aloe Blacc, “So Ambitious” by Jay Z and Pharrell, “Tightrope” by Janelle Monae, “U Got the Look” by Prince, “Classic Man” by Jidenna, and “Smooth Sailin’” by Leon Bridges.

He also is listening to classics like “Good Vibrations” by the Beach Boys, Nina Simone’s “Sinnerman,” Billie Holliday’s “Loverman,” and “I Get Lonely” by Janet Jackson and “My Funny Valentine” by Miles Davis.


The Hill has removed its comment section, as there are many other forums for readers to participate in the conversation. We invite you to join the discussion on Facebook and Twitter.

Most Popular

Load more


See all Video