In The Know

Kaepernick, Fauci to receive Robert F. Kennedy Human Rights Award

Former NFL star Colin Kaepernick and Anthony Fauci, the country’s leading infectious disease expert, are slated to be among this year’s recipients of the Robert F. Kennedy Human Rights Ripple of Hope Award.

Other leaders expected to receive the award this year include Dolores Huerta, founder and president of the Dolores Huerta Foundation and co-founder of United Farm Workers of America; Dan Schulman, president and chief executive officer of PayPal; and Dan Springer, chief executive officer of DocuSign.

“At a time when the courageous pursuit of equality and justice has become political and riddled with adversity, Robert F. Kennedy Human Rights stands with these modern-day human rights defenders in their inspirational fight for progress,” the organization said in an announcement on Monday.

In a statement thanking the organization for the honor, Kaepernick recalled his experience watching musician and civil rights activist Harry Belafonte receive the same award in 2017.

“I am humbled to follow the footsteps of individuals like Mr. B and to be in the company of all the other laureates,” he said. 

The group’s decision to honor Kaepernick comes as the nationwide debate around athletes kneeling during the national anthem to protest racial injustice has reignited in recent weeks amid widespread demonstrations sparked by the police killings of George Floyd and other Black Americans.

During the 2016 season, Kaepernick was the first NFL player to begin kneeling before games during “The Star-Spangled Banner.” Though other NFL players and athletes in other sports joined the former San Francisco 49ers quarterback in kneeling during the anthem to protest racism and police brutality, Kaepernick was often criticized by conservatives including President Trump as the face of a movement they claimed to be unpatriotic. 

The inclusion of Fauci as a Ripple of Hope Award laureate comes after the head of the National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases, was tapped by the White House earlier this year to help lead the federal response to the COVID-19 pandemic.

Kerry Kennedy, president of Robert F. Kennedy Human Rights, said the “country is yearning for leadership, for moral fortitude, for common decency and kindness, and this year’s Ripple of Hope laureates give us great hope for the future.”

“Their work for equal justice touches every corner of society, sometimes at great personal cost. We are deeply honored to celebrate these changemakers, who have set forth countless ripples of hope at a time when our world is in such need of inspiration,” she added.

Past recipients of the award include former President Obama, Archbishop Desmond Tutu, former Secretary of State Hillary Clinton and current presumptive Democratic presidential nominee Joe Biden.

Tags Anthony Fauci Barack Obama Colin Kaepernick Coronavirus Desmond Tutu Donald Trump Harry Belafonte Hillary Clinton Joe Biden kneeling protests ripple of hope

The Hill has removed its comment section, as there are many other forums for readers to participate in the conversation. We invite you to join the discussion on Facebook and Twitter.

See all Hill.TV See all Video

Most Popular

Load more


See all Video