In The Know

Obama reveals his 2020 summer playlist: ‘Hope you enjoy’

Former President Obama on Monday continued his tradition of sharing his annual summer playlist with musicians including Beyoncé, Billie Eilish and performers set to take the Democratic National Convention stage this week.

Obama tweeted the list to his followers Monday evening, featuring more than 50 songs.

“Over the past few months, I’ve spent a lot of time listening to music with my family,” he wrote on Twitter. “I wanted to share some of my favorites from the summer—including songs from some of the artists at this week’s @DemConvention. Hope you enjoy it.” 

The list features a range of genres, from hip-hop to country to pop and rock. It includes Maggie Rogers, Otis Redding, Outkast, Sheryl Crow, Bob Dylan, Nina Simone and Frank Ocean, among others.

Eilish, Leon Bridges, The Chicks, Common and Jennifer Hudson, who all made Obama’s list, are all set to perform at this week’s nominating convention where Obama’s former Vice President Joe Biden is set to be named the Democratic nominee.

Beyoncé, who performed at Obama’s inauguration, also made the list with the song “Already” from her new visual album “Black is King.”

Read Obama’s full playlist below:

“Texas Sun” by Leon Bridges & Khruangbin

“Forever Begins” by Common

“Don’t Walk Away” by John Legend ft. Koffee

“Gaslighter” by The Chicks

“My Future” by Billie Eilish

“Love You For A Long Time” by Maggie Rogers

“For What It’s Worth” by Billy Porter

“Feeling Good” by Jennifer Hudson

“Savage Remix” by Megan Thee stallion ft. Beyoncé

“Made It” by Teyana Taylor

“Work” by Rihanna ft. Drake

“Don’t Rush” by Young T & Bugsey ft. Headie One

“Know Yor Worth Remix” by Khalid & Disclosure ft. Davido & Tems

“Twist & Turn” by Popcaan ft. Drake & PARTYNEXTDOOR

“Smile” by Wizkid ft. H.E.R.

“Could You Be Loved” by Bob Marley & The Wailers

“Be Honest” by Jorja Smith ft. Burna Boy

“Gemini” by Princess Nokia

“The Climb Back” by J. Cole

“Memory Lane (Sittin’ in da Park)” by Nas

“Blue World” by Mac Miller

“Know You Bare” by Andrea Valle

“Tú” by Maye

“12.38” by Childish Gambino ft. 21 Savage, Ink & Kadhja Bonet

“All Day Music” by War

“These Arms of Mine” by Otis Redding

“I’ll Be Seeing You” by Billie Holliday

“Liberation” by Outkast

“Rank & File” by Moses Sumney

“Do I Do” by Stevie Wonder

“The Steps” by HAIM

“Nick of Time” by Bonnie Raitt

“All I Wanna Do” by Sheryl Crow

“Goodbye Jimmy Reed” by Bob Dylan

“Be Afraid” by Jason Isbell and the 400 Unit

“Neon Skyline” by Andy Shauf

“Solomon Sang” by Cassandra Wilson

“Cayendo” by Frank Ocean

“My Affection” by Summer Walker ft PARTYNEXTDOOR

“The Sun” by Kyle ft. Bryson Tiller & Raphael Saadiq


“As I Am” by H.E.R.

“ALREADY” by Beyoncé ft. Shatta Wale & Major Lazer

“one life, might live” by Little Simz

“Spaceships” by Tank and The Bangas

“Higher” by D’Angelo

“Let’s Get Lost” by Chet Baker

“My Baby Just Cares For Me” by Nina Simone

“Impressions” by John Coltrane

“Lockdown” by Anderson .Paak

“Back At It” by Lil Mosey ft. Lil Baby

“UN DIA (ONE DAY)” by J Balvin ft. Dua Lipa, Bad Bunny & Tainy

“CROWN” by Chika

Tags 2020 2020 conventions 2020 Democratic convention Barack Obama Beyonce Billie Eilish convention DNC Joe Biden leon bridges Music Obama Summer playlist the chicks
See all Hill.TV See all Video

Most Popular

Load more


See all Video