In The Know

Stacey Abrams’s romance novels to be reissued next year

Getty Images

Three romance novels that Stacey Abrams penned almost two decades ago will soon be hitting bookshelves once again.

The trio of titles by the Georgia Democrat and voting rights activist will be reissued by Berkley in 2022, the publisher announced Tuesday.

The book series, which includes the titles “Rules of Engagement,” “Power of Persuasion” and “The Art of Desire,” were written under Abrams’s pen name, Selena Montgomery.

Abrams, 47, called her first novels “incredibly special” to her.

“The characters and their adventures are what I’d wished to read as a young Black woman — stories that showcase women of color as nuanced, determined, and exciting,” she said in a statement. “As Selena and as Stacey, I am proud to be a part of the romance writing community and excited that Berkley is reintroducing these stories for new readers and faithful fans.”

The former gubernatorial candidate has authored several books. Her latest, a thriller called “While Justice Sleeps” that is poised to be released next week, is her first novel written under her own name.

—Updated at 12:22 p.m.

Tags Georgia Literature Romance novel Stacey Abrams

The Hill has removed its comment section, as there are many other forums for readers to participate in the conversation. We invite you to join the discussion on Facebook and Twitter.

Most Popular

Load more


See all Video