Omar, Klobuchar lead charge seeking Congressional Gold Medal for Prince
© (Photo credit should read BERTRAND GUAY/AFP via Getty Images)

Every member of Minnesota's congressional delegation has signed on in support of a bill that would posthumously honor pop legend Prince with a Congressional Gold Medal.

Minnesota Sen. Amy KlobucharAmy KlobucharKlobuchar confident spending bill will be finished before Christmas Sunday shows preview: New COVID-19 variant emerges; supply chain issues and inflation persist The Hill's 12:30 Report: Biden renominates Powell as Fed chair MORE (D) and Minnesota Rep. Ilhan OmarIlhan OmarGOP governor says McCarthy should condemn Boebert's anti-Muslim remarks GOP eyes booting Democrats from seats if House flips Boebert apologizes to Muslims as Democrats call for 'real action to confront racism' MORE (D) announced the bill's introduction on Monday.

"Like so many, I grew up with Prince's music. I was always proud to say he was from Minnesota," Klobuchar said in a statement. "The world is a whole lot cooler because Prince was in it — he touched our hearts, opened our minds, and made us want to dance. With this legislation, we honor his memory and contributions as a composer, performer, and music innovator. Purple reigns in Minnesota today and every day because of him."


"Prince is a Minnesota icon," Omar added in the statement. "I remember when I first came to America being captivated by Prince’s music and impact on the culture. He showed that it was okay to be a short, Black kid from Minneapolis and still change the world."

Two-thirds of the House and Senate will need to support the bill for it to pass. Should the bipartisan effort be successful, the medal would be "in recognition of his achievements and contributions to the culture of the United States," according to the Star Tribune.

In 2016, Prince died after an accidental fentanyl overdose at the age of 57.

Only 163 people have been honored with Congressional Gold Medals since 1776, the statement said. The first medal was awarded to George Washington.