Sen. Jim DeMint (R-S.C.) used his Twitter feed on Thursday to bring attention to the 13 co-sponsors of his earmark moratorium.

"Please thank @TomCoburn @JohnCornyn @SenEnsign @SenatorBurr @SenatorSessions  @SenBobCorker & Mike Enzi for cosponsoring earmark ban," he tweeted. "Also thank @ToomeyforSenate  @MarcoRubio @DrRandPaul @Ron4Senate @Ayotte2010 @MikeLee2010 for cosponsoring earmark ban."

DeMint will present the ban to a meeting of the Republican Conference next week, where it will face opposition from a large portion of the caucus. Senate Republican Leader Mitch McConnell (Ky.) has notably criticized it as a measure that "doesn't save any money," and reportedly hopes to placate DeMint's coalition and others with Cornyn's balanced-budget amendment.

The official list of co-sponsors is: Sens. Tom Coburn (R-Okla.), Bob Corker (R-Tenn.), John Ensign (R-Nev.), Mike Enzi (R-Wyo.), John Cornyn (R-Texas), Richard Burr (R-N.C.) and Jeff Sessions (R-Ala.) and Sens.-elect Pat Toomey (R-Pa.), Marco Rubio (R-Fla.), Rand Paul (R-Ky.), Mike Lee (R-Utah), Ron Johnson (R-Wis.) and Kelly Ayotte (R-N.H.).

The language of the proposed moratorium reads, "Resolved, that it is the policy of the Republican Conference that no Member shall request a congressionally directed spending item, limited tax benefit, or limited tariff benefit, as such terms are used in Rule XLIV of the Standing Rules of the Senate for the 112th Congress."