Members of the House Democratic Caucus are automatically entered in the “All-Star Competition,” rather than opting in. That means any House Democrat — with the exception of members of leadership, who are disqualified — can win.

The three-week contest also includes committees and caucuses.

Last year, Rep. Maxine Waters (D-Calif.) won.

House Republicans have held a similar contest earlier in the summer for the past three years, known as the “Republican New Media Challenge.” The goal of the contests is to increase use of new-media tools through friendly competition among members of Congress, a clear sign that both parties are convinced of the merits of social media.

See last year’s results in the chart provided by Hoyer’s office, below: