•President Obama will nominate Kelvin Droegemeier as a member of the National Science Board of the National Science Foundation (NSF). Droegemeier is the vice president for research, regents’ professor of meteorology and weathernews chair emeritus at the University of Oklahoma. He also founded the NSF’s Science and Technology Center for the Analysis and Prediction of Storms, where he is director emeritus. He has Ph.D. and M.S. degrees in atmospheric science from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign.

•The president will nominate Dan Ashe as director of the United States Fish and Wildlife Service at the Department of the Interior. He has been the deputy director of the service since September 2009. Prior to that, he was science adviser to the director at the service, and was chief of the National Wildlife Refuge System. Ashe also worked on the staff of the former Committee on Merchant Marine and Fisheries in the House of Representatives.


•The president has announced his intent to nominate Albert Beveridge, Dr. Constance Carroll and Cathy Davidson to be members of the National Council on the Humanities. Beveridge is a founding member and senior counsel of the law firm Beveridge & Diamond, P.C., general counsel for the American Historical Association and a founding member of the National Trust for the Humanities. Carroll is the chancellor of the San Diego Community College District and has served on the board of the American Council on Education. Davidson is a professor at Duke University.

•The president has announced his intention to reappoint Maurice B. Foley as a judge on the U.S. Tax Court. Originally appointed to the court by President Clinton, Foley’s term is scheduled to end in April. Prior to his appointment, Foley had served as deputy tax legislative counsel in the Treasury Department’s office of tax policy, as tax counsel for the Senate Finance Committee and as attorney-adviser for the legislation and regulations division of the IRS.