Lobbying world

Lobbying world
© Greg Nash

Dan Smith has been named senior vice president and executive director of the American Bankers Association’s Card Policy Council, which is a voice on legislative, regulatory and communications issues facing credit card issuers and payment card networks. He previously was first assistant director for the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau Office of Financial Institutions and Business Liaison.

Frank Hugelmeyer has been named the next president of the National Marine Manufacturers Association, effective Oct. 1. He will succeed Thom Dammrich, who has led the association for 20 years. Hugelmeyer has been president of the RV Industry Association since 2015 and prior to that president and CEO of the Outdoor Industry Association for 14 years.

• Global communications company Burson Cohn & Wolfe named Licy Do Canto executive vice president, managing director in the firm’s U.S. public affairs and crisis practice. He will lead policy strategy for health care clients. Previously, he founded his own firm, the Do Canto Group, and was a principal at the Raben Group before that.


Dante Cutrona, former chief of staff to ex-Rep. Ryan CostelloRyan Anthony CostellloBottom line Former GOP Rep. Costello launches lobbying shop Head of Pennsylvania GOP resigns over alleged explicit texts MORE (R-Pa.), will be government relations director at the American Flood Coalition. 

The National Restaurant Association named Sean Kennedy executive vice president of public affairs. Kennedy most recently was senior vice president of global government affairs at Airlines for America. He has also served as special assistant to the president in the Office of Legislative Affairs at the White House, chief of staff to ex- Sen. Claire McCaskillClaire Conner McCaskillSenate faces protracted floor fight over judges amid pandemic safety concerns Amash on eyeing presidential bid: 'Millions of Americans' want someone other than Trump, Biden Senators poke fun at Warner over tuna melt: 'I think you're doing it wrong' MORE (D-Mo.) and legislative director for ex- Rep. Richard Gephardt (D-Mo.).

The association’s president and CEO, Dawn Sweeney, also announced that she will retire at the end of the year.