Story at a glance

  • The delegation is being led by Ambassador Marcia Bernicat, Principal Deputy Assistant Secretary of State for Oceans and International Environmental and Scientific Affairs (OES).
  • The delegation also includes officials from the State Department, the Environmental Protection Agency, the Department of Treasury, the Department of Agriculture, the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration, and the U.S. Agency for International Development.
  • Formally known as the 2019 UN Framework Convention on Climate Change, the COP25 aims to implement changes outlined in the Paris Agreement.

The Madric climate change conference, COP25, began today and will last till Dec. 13. Per the U.N. website, the conference “is designed to take the next crucial steps in the U.N. climate change process” which includes making plans for 2020 climate action plans in areas such as finance, forests and agriculture, technology, capacity building, indigenous peoples, cities, oceans, and gender. 

U.N. Secretary-General Antonio Guterres opened the COP25 talks, warning that “if we stay on our current path, [we] threaten our existence on this planet,” per an Al-Jazeera report.

Current statistics state that the global temperature has risen by approximately 1.9 degrees Fahrenheit since 1880, and this past July went on record as being Earth’s hottest month. 

The COP25 objective is to support and implement the regulations outlined in the Paris Agreement, an international accord that combats climate change through sustainable global regulations. The U.S. joined the Paris Agreement in 2016 under the Obama Administration but has formally filed its intention to withdraw from the accordPresident Trump is not expected to attend the COP25. House Speaker Nancy Pelosi announced on Saturday that she will lead a bicameral Congressional Delegation to Madrid. Her delegation, according to a press release from her office, will “reaffirm the commitment of the American people to combating the climate crisis.” 

Accompanying her will be Dems from both legislative houses, including Sen. Whitehouse (D-R.I.) and Reps. Frank Pallone (D-N.J.), Eddie Bernice Johnson (D-Texas), Raúl Grijalva (D-Ariz.), Kathy Castor (D-Fla.), Betty McCollum (D-Minn.), Suzanne Bonamici (D-Ore.), Julia Brownley (D-Calif.), Jared Huffman (D-Calif.), Scott Peters (D-Calif.), Debbie Dingell (D-Mich.), Mike Levin (D-Calif.), Sean Casten (D-Ill.), and Joseph Neguse (D-Col.). 

Published on Dec 02, 2019