Trump holds more Medal of Freedom ceremonies than predecessors but awards fewer medals

Trump holds more Medal of Freedom ceremonies than predecessors but awards fewer medals
© Getty Images

President TrumpDonald TrumpFive takeaways from the Ohio special primaries Missouri Rep. Billy Long enters Senate GOP primary Trump-backed Mike Carey wins GOP primary in Ohio special election MORE on Tuesday presented the Medal of Freedom to former Attorney General Edwin Meese, making him the 13th recipient of the highest civilian honor since Trump took office.

It was the sixth Medal of Freedom ceremony this year and Trump's seventh overall.


At this point in his first term, former President Obama had held three ceremonies and awarded 32 medals, while former President George W. Bush had held two ceremonies and given the award to 23 people.

Only once has Trump presented the award to multiple people in the same ceremony.

The Medal of Freedom is awarded by the president to citizens who make an “especially meritorious contribution to the security or national interests of the United States, or world peace, or cultural or other significant public or private endeavors.”

Obama awarded the medal to 123 people over the course of his presidency, the most of all time. Bush awarded the medal to 78 people.

Below is the list of Medal of Freedom recipients during Trump's presidency.


Miriam Adelson, philanthropist and wife of GOP mega-donor Sheldon Adelson

NBA legend Bob Cousy

Now-former Sen. Orrin HatchOrrin Grant HatchCongress, stop holding 'Dreamers' hostage Drug prices are declining amid inflation fears The national action imperative to achieve 30 by 30 MORE (Utah)

Arthur Laffer, economist and Reagan adviser

Former Attorney General Edwin Meese

Former Minnesota Supreme Court Justice Alan Page

Musician Elvis Presley

New York Yankees legend Mariano Rivera

Baseball Hall of Famer Babe Ruth

Late Supreme Court Justice Antonin Scalia

NFL Hall of Fame quarterback Roger Staubach

NBA great Jerry West

Pro golf legend Tiger Woods