President Biden approved a major disaster declaration for Oklahoma on Thursday, freeing up more federal resources for 16 counties in the state that were impacted by the recent severe winter weather.

The declaration opens up additional federal funding for the Oklahoma counties of Canadian, Carter, Cherokee, Comanche, Cotton, Hughes, Jefferson, Le Flore, McIntosh, Oklahoma, Okmulgee, Osage, Pittsburg, Stephens, Tulsa and Wagoner, the White House said. 

Individuals and business in these counties will be able to receive grants for temporary housing or repairs, low-cost loans to cover damage to uninsured property and other assistance, according to the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA).

Biden had previously approved an emergency declaration for Oklahoma, allowing FEMA to provide emergency assistance. 

Biden has now approved major disaster declarations for both Texas and Oklahoma; he has also declared a state of emergency in Louisiana.

The release of additional federal assistance comes as all three states work to recover after deadly winter storms left millions without power and dozens dead and resulted in water shortages. While power has been largely restored, many individuals remain under boil-water notices.

Biden is slated to visit Houston on Friday to meet with local leaders and discuss the storm relief efforts.

Tags FEMA Joe Biden Oklahoma Winter weather

Most Popular

Load more


See all Video