A Democratic elector in Minnesota has become the first “faithless elector” of Monday’s nationwide Electoral College vote after refusing to vote for Hillary Clinton. 

Muhammad Abdurrahman, a former Bernie Sanders delegate to the Democratic National Convention, attempted to vote for a presidential ticket of Sanders — an Independent senator from Vermont — and Rep. Tulsi Gabbard (D-Hawaii), according to The Associated Press’s Kyle Potter. 
{mosads}Abdurrahman’s vote was declared invalid and an alternate elector was appointed, allowing the state to go ahead and deliver its 10 electoral votes for Hillary Clinton. 
Many liberals have protested Donald Trump’s victory, calling on Republican electors to refuse to back Trump. Instead, the day’s first faithless elector is a Democrat. 
Minnesota was also the site of the last faithless elector in 2004, when one person voted for “John Ewards” for president. Democrat John Edwards had been on the ballot as John Kerry’s running mate, and it is unclear whether the vote was a mistake or meant to be a protest.
Tags Bernie Sanders Donald Trump Hillary Clinton John Kerry Tulsi Gabbard

The Hill has removed its comment section, as there are many other forums for readers to participate in the conversation. We invite you to join the discussion on Facebook and Twitter.

See all Hill.TV See all Video

Most Popular

Load more


See all Video