CNN to host live 7-hour climate change town hall with 2020 Democrats

CNN to host live 7-hour climate change town hall with 2020 Democrats
© Getty Images

CNN will host a live seven-hour "climate crisis town hall" next week with 10 Democratic primary candidates. 

Each candidate is allotted 40 minutes to address questions from CNN moderators and audience members at the town hall in New York, CNN announced Tuesday. 

Former Housing and Urban Development Secretary Julián Castro will kick off the town hall at 5 p.m. The event will conclude with Sen. Cory BookerCory BookerPolice reform talks hit familiar stumbling block Almost 20 advocacy groups team up to pressure Congress to pass health care bill for immigrants Biden adds pressure to congressional talks with self-imposed deadlines MORE's (D-N.J.) appearance at 11:20 p.m.

Other Democrats will participate in the following order: former tech entrepreneur Andrew YangAndrew YangJeffries endorses Wiley in New York mayor's race Yang: 'Defund the police is the wrong approach for New York City' HuffPost's Daniel Marans discusses fallout from Yang's comments on Israel MORE, Sen. Kamala HarrisKamala HarrisHere's why Joe Biden polls well, but Kamala Harris does not Immigration experts say GOP senators questioned DHS secretary with misleading chart Carper urges Biden to nominate ambassadors amid influx at border MORE (Calif.), Sen. Amy KlobucharAmy Klobuchar Klobuchar offers tribute to her father, who died Wednesday The Hill's Morning Report - Presented by Facebook - Cheney poised to be ousted; Biden to host big meeting Senate panel deadlocks in vote on sweeping elections bill MORE (Minn.), former Vice President Joe BidenJoe Biden28 Senate Democrats sign statement urging Israel-Hamas ceasefire Franklin Graham says Trump comeback would 'be a very tough thing to do' Schools face new pressures to reopen for in-person learning MORE, Sen. Bernie SandersBernie SandersMusk's SpaceX has a competitive advantage over Bezos' Blue Origin New York, New Jersey, California face long odds in scrapping SALT  Warren calls for US to support ceasefire between Israel and Hamas MORE (I-Vt.), Sen. Elizabeth WarrenElizabeth WarrenLawmakers bicker over how to go after tax cheats Warren calls for US to support ceasefire between Israel and Hamas Sanders: Netanyahu has cultivated 'racist nationalism' MORE (Mass.), South Bend, Ind., Mayor Pete ButtigiegPete ButtigiegInfrastructure deal imperiled by differences on financing Biden says he and GOP both 'sincere about' seeking infrastructure compromise The Hill's 12:30 Report - Presented by Facebook - Colonial pays hackers as service is restored MORE and former Rep. Beto O’Rourke (Texas).


The network did not elaborate on how the candidate order was chosen. 

Five CNN journalists — Wolf Blitzer, Erin Burnett, Anderson Cooper, Chris CuomoChris CuomoCNN's Lemon, Cuomo to host new podcast DOJ: Arizona recount could violate civil rights laws Haaland: Santorum's Native American comments 'unfortunate' MORE and Don LemonDon Carlton LemonDon Lemon's show to be rebranded as 'Don Lemon Tonight' New bodycam footage shows Jan. 6 attack on officer: 'I got one' CNN's Lemon, Cuomo to host new podcast MORE — will each moderate two candidates.

CNN’s chief climate correspondent Bill Weir will also question candidates throughout the evening. 

CNN’s town hall follows the Democratic National Committee’s (DNC) decision not to host a climate-focused debate. A DNC committee voted down the proposal last week in a 17-8 vote, after months of pushback from activists calling for the party to host a debate centered on climate change.