2020 Presidential Election Calendar

2020 Presidential Election Calendar
© The Hill illustration

Democratic Primary Debates

June 26-27, 2019
First debate held in Miami

July 30-31, 2019
Second debate held in Detroit

ADVERTISEMENT

September 12, 2019
Third debate held in Houston

October 15, 2019
Fourth debate held in Westerville, Ohio

November 20, 2019
Fifth debate, held in Atlanta

December 19, 2019
Sixth debate, held in Los Angeles

January 14, 2020
Seventh debate, scheduled to be held in Des Moines, Iowa

February 7, 2020
Eighth debate, scheduled to be held in Manchester, N.H.

February 19, 2020
Ninth debate, scheduled to be held in Las Vegas

ADVERTISEMENT

February 25, 2020
Tenth debate, scheduled to be held in Charleston, S.C.

Two more Democratic debates are scheduled to be held, date and location to be determined.

 

Presidential Debates

September 29, 2020
First presidential debate, scheduled to be held in Notre Dame, Ind.

October 7, 2020
Vice presidential debate, scheduled to be held in Salt Lake City

October 15, 2020
Second presidential debate, scheduled to be held in Ann Arbor, Mich.

October 22, 2020
Third presidential debate, scheduled to be held in Nashville, Tenn.

 

Primaries and Caucuses
* Dates are tentative

February 2020

Monday, February 3
Iowa caucuses*

Tuesday, February 11
New Hampshire primaries*

Saturday, February 22
Nevada Democratic caucuses

Saturday, February 29
South Carolina Democratic primary

March 2020

Tuesday, March 3 "Super Tuesday"
Alabama primaries
Alaska Republican conventions*
American Samoa Democratic caucus
Arkansas primaries
California primaries
Colorado primaries
Maine primaries*
Massachusetts primaries
Minnesota primaries
North Carolina primaries*
Oklahoma primaries
Tennessee primaries
Texas primaries*
Utah primaries*
Vermont primaries*
Virginia primaries*
Democrats Abroad primary

Sunday, March 8, 2020
Puerto Rico Republican primary

Tuesday, March 10, 2020
Hawaii Republican caucuses*
Idaho primaries*
Michigan primaries*
Mississippi primaries
Missouri primaries
North Dakota Democratic caucuses
Washington primaries

Thursday, March 12, 2020
Virgin Island Republican caucus*

Saturday, March 14, 2020
District of Columbia Republican convention*
Guam Republican caucus*
Northern Marianas Democratic convention*
Wyoming Republican conventions*

ADVERTISEMENT

Tuesday, March 17, 2020
Arizona Democratic primary
Florida primaries*
Illinois primaries*
Northern Marianas Republican convention*
Ohio primaries

Saturday, March 21, 2020
Kentucky Republican caucuses

Tuesday, March 24, 2020
American Samoa Republican caucus*
Georgia primaries

Sunday, March 29, 2020
Puerto Rico Democratic primary

April 2020

April 3-5, 2020
North Dakota Republican state convention*

Saturday, April 4, 2020
Alaska Democratic primary
Hawaii Democratic primary
Louisiana primaries
Wyoming Democratic caucuses

ADVERTISEMENT

Tuesday, April 7, 2020
Wisconsin primaries

Tuesday, April 28, 2020
Connecticut primaries
Delaware primaries*
Maryland primaries
New York primaries
Pennsylvania primaries*
Rhode Island primaries*

May 2020

Saturday, May 2, 2020
Guam Democratic caucus
Kansas Democratic primary

Tuesday, May 5, 2020
Indiana primaries*

Tuesday, May 12, 2020
Nebraska primaries*
West Virginia primaries

Tuesday, May 19, 2020
Kentucky Democratic primary
Oregon primaries

June 2020

Tuesday, June 2, 2020
District of Columbia Democratic primary
Montana primaries*
New Jersey primaries*
New Mexico primaries*
South Dakota primaries*

Saturday, June 6, 2020
Virgin Islands Democratic caucuses

 

Other important dates

July 13 - 16, 2020
Democratic National Convention
Milwaukee, Wis.

August 24-27, 2020
Republican National Convention
Charlotte, N.C.

Tuesday, November 3, 2020
Election Day