Gun control group rolls out House endorsements

Greg Nash

Everytown for Gun Safety rolled out its first round of House endorsements on Thursday, committing to double down on its effort to protect what it has dubbed a “gun sense majority” in the lower chamber.

The 58 endorsements, which were released exclusively to The Hill, mark the first round of the group’s $60 million electoral program.

The list includes Rep. Lucy McBath (D) in Georgia’s 6th District, Rep. Jason Crow (D) in Colorado’s 6th District, Rep. Debbie Mucarsel-Powell (D) in Florida’s 26th District and Rep. Sharice Davids (D) in Kansas’s 3rd District.

The group’s senior political adviser, Charlie Kelly, said Everytown’s priority is to defend a number of incumbents facing contested races in an effort to defend the pro-gun control majority in the House.

“Time and again, this gun sense majority in the House has made it absolutely clear, and made gun safety a priority,” Kelly said. “It’s important that we keep the leadership of the chamber and that gun sense majority.”

Everytown also says it plans to go on the offensive, focusing on historically red states and districts, including Texas.

“Texas is going to be a huge focus for us,” Kelly said. “The gun sense majority effort there is huge both in the state House and in the U.S. House.”

Former Texas state Sen. Wendy Davis (D) in the 21st District and Gina Ortiz Jones in the 23rd District are among the group’s challenger endorsements.

Everytown has jumped into the electoral fray, launching efforts in a number of states, including Texas and Arizona.

The group rolled out a $250,000 ad campaign earlier this month, focusing on Republican-held House seats in Texas. The group also announced plans earlier this month to spend at least $5 million in Arizona ahead of the state’s highly contested Senate race and the general election.

The full list of Everytown’s House endorsements is Rep. Tom O’Halleran (D-Ariz.); Hiral Tipirneni, who is running in Arizona’s 6th District; Rep. Mike Thompson (D-Calif.); Rep. Josh Harder (D-Calif.); Rep. TJ Cox (D-Calif.); Rep. Gil Cisneros (D-Calif.); Rep. Katie Porter (D-Calif.); Rep. Harley Rouda (D-Calif.); Rep. Mike Levin (D-Calif.); Crow; Rep. Jahana Hayes (D-Conn.); Mucarsel-Powell; McBath; Rep. Abby Finkenauer (D-Iowa); Rep. Cindy Axne (D-Iowa); Rep. Sean Casten (D-Ill.); Betsy Dirksen Londrigan, who is running in Illinois’s 13th District; Rep. Lauren Underwood (D-Ill.); Christina Hale, who is running in Indiana’s 5th District; Davids; Rep. Katherine Clark (D-Mass.); House Majority Leader Steny Hoyer (D-Md.); Rep. Elissa Slotkin (D-Mich.); Rep. Haley Stevens (D-Mich.); Dan Feehan, who is running in Minnesota’s 1st District; Rep. Angie Craig (D-Minn.); Jill Schupp, who is running in Missouri’s 2nd District; Kara Eastman, who is running in Nebraska’s 2nd District; Rep. Chris Pappas (D-N.H.); Rep. Andy Kim (D-N.J.); Rep. Josh Gottheimer (D-N.J.); Rep. Tom Malinowski (D-N.J.); Rep. Mikie Sherrill (D-N.J.); Rep. Susie Lee (D-Nev.); Rep. Steven Horsford (D-Nev.); Jackie Gordon, who is running in New York’s 2nd District; Rep. Hakeem Jeffries (D-N.Y.); Rep. Jerrold Nadler (D-N.Y.); Rep. Max Rose (D-N.Y.); Rep. Carolyn Maloney (D-N.Y.); Rep. Antonio Delgado (D-N.Y.); Rep. Brian Fitzpatrick (R-Pa.); Rep. Susan Wild (D-Pa.); Rep. Matt Cartwright (D-Pa.); Eugene DePasquale, who is running in Pennsylvania’s 10th District; Rep. Conor Lamb (D-Pa.); Rep. Joe Cunningham (D-S.C.); House Majority Whip James Clyburn (D-S.C.); Rep. Lizzie Fletcher (D-Texas); Davis; Sri Kulkarni, who is running in Texas’s 22nd District; Ortiz- ones; Rep. Colin Allred (D-Texas); Rep. Elaine Luria (D-Va.); Rep. Abigail Spanberger (D-Va.); Rep. Kim Schrier (D-Wash.); and Carolyn Long, who is running in Washington’s 3rd District.

Tags Abby Finkenauer Abigail Spanberger Antonio Delgado Brian Fitzpatrick Carolyn Maloney Chris Pappas Cindy Axne Colin Allred Debbie Mucarsel-Powell Elaine Luria Elissa Slotkin Everytown for Gun Safety Gil Cisneros Gun control Hakeem Jeffries Haley Stevens Harley Rouda Jahana Hayes Jason Crow Jerry Nadler Joe Cunningham Josh Gottheimer Katherine Clark Kim Schrier Lauren Underwood Lucy McBath Matt Cartwright Max Rose Mike Levin Mike Thompson Mikie Sherrill Sean Casten Sharice Davids Steny Hoyer Steven Horsford Susan Wild Susie Lee Tom Malinowski
See all Hill.TV See all Video

Most Popular

Load more


See all Video