Tina Smith wins Democratic Senate primary in Minnesota

Tina Smith wins Democratic Senate primary in Minnesota
© Bonnie Cash

Sen. Tina SmithTina Flint SmithDemocrats near pressure point on nixing filibuster  Sen. Tina Smith calls for eliminating filibuster Senator notices mismatching shoes at trial: 'I had a lot on my mind' MORE won the Democratic Senate primary in Minnesota on Tuesday as she seeks a full term in November.

Smith defeated four other Democrats who put up minimal competition and will be the heavy favorite in November in a race The Cook Political Report rates as “solid” Democrat. 

The incumbent senator was declared the winner with more than 86 percent of the vote with 13 percent of precincts reporting, according to The Associated Press.


She will face former Rep. Jason LewisJason LewisRep. Angie Craig defends Minnesota House seat in race clouded by legal confusion Smith wins reelection in Minnesota Klobuchar 'feeling good' about Democrats taking control of Senate MORE (R-Minn.) in the general election. Lewis defeated four other Republicans in the GOP primary on Tuesday, capturing more than 83 percent of the vote.

Smith, Minnesota’s former lieutenant governor, was appointed to her seat in 2018 after former Sen. Al FrankenAlan (Al) Stuart FrankenThe Hill's Morning Report - Presented by Facebook - Senate Dems face unity test; Tanden nomination falls Gillibrand: Cuomo allegations 'completely unacceptable' Schumer: Allegations against Cuomo 'serious, very troubling' MORE (D) resigned in scandal. Later that year, she won the special election to finish his term.

Smith thanked supporters on Tuesday in a video posted to Twitter: