Rundown of the House seats Democrats, GOP flipped on Election Day

Greg Nash

Election Day is over, and Democrats are projected to maintain control of the House — albeit with a smaller majority than before.

Republicans have ousted at least eight Democratic incumbents so far, with several more close races having yet to be called.

Here’s a rundown of the seats both parties flipped in this election.


House Democratic incumbents who lost

Rep. Harley Rouda (Calif.-48)

Rep. Debbie Mucarsel-Powell (Fla.-26)

Rep. Donna Shalala (Fla.-27)

Rep. Abby Finkenauer (Iowa-01)

Rep. Collin Peterson (Minn.-07)

Rep. Xochitl Torres Small (N.M.-02)

Rep. Kendra Horn (Okla.-05)

Rep. Joe Cunningham (S.C.-01)


House Republican incumbents who lost


Open House seats picked up by Democrats

GA-07 (Rep. Rob Woodall)

NC-02 (Rep. George Holding)

NC-06 (Rep. Mark Walker)


Open House seats picked up by Republicans

MI-03 (Rep. Justin Amash, who quit the Republican Party and became a Libertarian) 


Pending Races (Incumbents)

CA-21 (Rep. TJ Cox (R))

CA-25 (Rep. Mike Garcia (R))

CA-39 (Rep. Gil Cisneros (D))

IL-14 (Rep. Lauren Underwood (D))

IA-02 (Open — Rep. David Loebsack (D))

NY-01 (Rep. Lee Zeldin (R))

NY-02 (Open — Rep. Pete King (R))

NY-11 (Rep. Max Rose (D))

NY-18 (Rep. Sean Patrick Maloney (D))

NY-19 (Rep. Antonio Delgado (D))

NY-22 (Rep. Anthony Brindisi (D))

NY-24 (Rep. John Katko (R))

UT-04 (Rep. Ben McAdams (D))

Tags 2020 election Abby Finkenauer Antonio Delgado Collin Peterson Dave Loebsack Debbie Mucarsel-Powell Donna Shalala George Holding Gil Cisneros Harley Rouda Joe Cunningham John Katko Justin Amash Kendra Horn Lauren Underwood Lee Zeldin Mark Walker Max Rose Pete King Rob Woodall

Most Popular

Load more


See all Video