Trump backs McDaniel for another term as RNC chair

Trump backs McDaniel for another term as RNC chair
© Getty Images

President TrumpDonald TrumpSchumer: Impeachment trial will be quick, doesn't need a lot of witnesses Nurse to be tapped by Biden as acting surgeon general: report Schumer calls for Biden to declare climate emergency MORE on Wednesday backed Ronna McDanielRonna Romney McDanielDemocrats formally elect Harrison as new DNC chair GOP in bind over Trump as corporate donations freeze The Memo: Democrats scorn GOP warnings on impeachment MORE for a third term leading the Republican National Committee (RNC), following his reelection defeat.

“I am pleased to announce that I have given my full support and endorsement to Ronna McDaniel to continue heading the Republican National Committee (RNC),” Trump tweeted Wednesday evening. “With 72 MILLION votes, we received more votes than any sitting President in U.S. history - and we will win!”

McDaniel has not yet formally announced plans to seek a third term, but Trump's tweet makes clear she will have his backing when she does. 


McDaniel has headed the RNC since 2017, after serving as chairwoman of the Michigan Republican Party. She was tapped by Trump to serve in the leadership post following his successful presidential run in 2016. She is the second woman to be elected to serve as RNC chair and is also a member of the Romney family.

Trump’s announcement comes about a week after the 2020 election. Joe BidenJoe BidenBudowsky: A Biden-McConnell state of emergency summit DC might win US House vote if it tries Inaugural poet Amanda Gorman inks deal with IMG Models MORE was declared the winner of the presidential race on Saturday, but Trump has refused to concede and instead pushed forward on challenging the results.

McDaniel has been one of Trump’s most fervent defenders and has been vocal in challenging the results of last week’s election and raising allegations of voter fraud that have not been substantiated.

The development comes after Sen. Rick Scott (R-Fla.) was elected to serve as the chairman of the National Republican Senatorial Committee.