McCarthy-allied fundraising group helps Republicans who voted to impeach Trump

Several Republican lawmakers who voted to impeach former President Trump this year are getting a financial boost from a joint fundraising committee aligned with House Minority Leader Kevin McCarthy (R-Calif.).

Take Back the House 2022 distributed money to GOP Reps. Jaime Herrera Beutler (Wash.), John Katko (N.Y.), Peter Meijer (Mich.), David Valadao (Calif.) and Fred Upton (Mich.) during the first six months of 2021, according to the latest Federal Election Commission filings. Each lawmaker received roughly $100,000.

Additionally, McCarthy’s leadership PAC, Majority Committee PAC, contributed $10,000 to Rep. Anthony Gonzalez (R-Ohio) in late March.

CNN, which first detailed the contributions, reported Friday that McCarthy and his allies have also reached out to Trump and his advisers to urge that the former president not get involved in the 2022 midterm primaries for Valadao and Katko.

The Hill has reached out to McCarthy’s office and Trump’s team for comment.

Trump has recently endorsed GOP challengers to Upton and Herrera Beutler.

Republicans would have to net at least six seats to win back the House next year.

Among the Republicans who did not receive fundraising from either McCarthy’s leadership PAC or the joint fundraising committee are Reps. Adam Kinzinger (Ill.) and Liz Cheney (Wyo.) — the only two GOP members to both vote for impeachment and serve on a select committee to investigate the events surrounding the Jan. 6 insurrection on the Capitol.

Tags Adam Kinzinger Anthony Gonzalez David Valadao Donald Trump Donald Trump FEC Fred Upton Jaime Herrera Beutler Jan 6 insurrection John Katko Kevin McCarthy Kevin McCarthy Liz Cheney Liz Cheney Peter Meijer

Copyright 2023 Nexstar Media Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

See all Hill.TV See all Video

Most Popular

Load more


See all Video