Senate Dems, GOP reelect leaders in orderly transition

Senate Democrats and Republicans reelected their leadership teams Wednesday in an orderly post-election transition to the 112th Congress.
Senate Democrats, however, are still searching for a volunteer to chair the Democratic Senatorial Campaign Committee in the next election cycle, when 21 Democrats and two allied independents face reelection.


Democrats reelected Senate Majority Leader Harry ReidHarry Mason ReidBottom line Voters need to feel the benefit, not just hear the message Schumer-McConnell dial down the debt ceiling drama MORE (Nev.), Majority Whip Dick DurbinDick DurbinFour questions that deserve answers at the Guantanamo oversight hearing Senate dodges initial December crisis with last-minute deal Conservatives target Biden pick for New York district court MORE (Ill.) and Democratic Conference Secretary Patty MurrayPatricia (Patty) Lynn MurrayBiden signs four bills aimed at helping veterans On The Money — Biden sticks with Powell despite pressure Senators call for Smithsonian Latino, women's museums to be built on National Mall MORE (Was.). They reaffirmed Sen. Chuck SchumerChuck SchumerHospitals in underserved communities face huge cuts in reckless 'Build Back Better' plan GOP infighting takes stupid to a whole new level Progressive groups urge Schumer to prevent further cuts to T plan MORE’s (N.Y.) role as the third-ranking member of the Democratic leadership, but under a new title.
Schumer will take over as chairman of the Democratic Policy Committee, replacing Sen. Byron Dorgan (N.D.), who is set to retire. The post will be elevated to No. 3 in the Democratic leadership and will put Schumer in charge of a new policy and press operation that combines the staff and resources of the DPC and the Senate Democratic war room.

Sen. Debbie StabenowDeborah (Debbie) Ann StabenowOvernight Energy & Environment — Presented by ExxonMobil — Dems seek to preserve climate provisions Democrats wrangle to keep climate priorities in spending bill  Senate parliamentarian looms over White House spending bill MORE (Mich.) will leave her post as chair of the Senate Democratic Steering and Outreach Committee to become vice chairman of the revamped policy committee.
Sen. Mark BegichMark Peter BegichAlaska Senate race sees cash surge in final stretch Alaska group backing independent candidate appears linked to Democrats Sullivan wins Alaska Senate GOP primary MORE (Alaska) will take over as chairman of the steering committee.
Senate Republicans unanimously reelected Minority Leader Mitch McConnellAddison (Mitch) Mitchell McConnellDemocrats livid over GOP's COVID-19 attacks on Biden US could default within weeks absent action on debt limit: analysis The Hill's Morning Report - Presented by Facebook - Congress avoids shutdown MORE (Ky.), ending speculation that McConnell faced a potential challenge from Sen. Jim DeMint (S.C.). Rumors of a DeMint challenge persisted even after he told reporters earlier this year that he would support McConnell.
Sen. John McCainJohn Sidney McCainThe bully who pulls the levers of Trump's mind never learns GOP senators appalled by 'ridiculous' House infighting MSNBC's Nicolle Wallace, Chris Christie battle over Fox News MORE (Ariz.) and Sen.-elect Marco RubioMarco Antonio RubioOvernight Defense & National Security — US tries to deter Russian invasion of Ukraine Senate eyes plan B amid defense bill standoff To counter China, the Senate must confirm US ambassadors MORE (Fla.) nominated McConnell and Republicans chose him to serve his third term as their leader.

Republicans also unanimously voted for Sen. John CornynJohn CornynHouse passes bill to expedite financial disclosures from judges McConnell leaves GOP in dark on debt ceiling Congress's goal in December: Avoid shutdown and default MORE (Texas) to serve another term as chairman of the National Republican Senatorial Committee.
“I appreciate the strong support from all of my Republican colleagues, and especially our 13 new Republican Senators, as we continue our campaign to win back a Senate Republican majority in 2012,” Cornyn said in a statement. “Continuity at the NRSC is something we haven’t had in a while, and which we need to build on our victories in 2010.”
Republicans also reelected Sen. Jon Kyl (Ariz.) to serve as minority whip; Sen. John ThuneJohn Randolph ThuneThe Hill's Morning Report - Presented by Facebook - Congress avoids shutdown Senate dodges initial December crisis with last-minute deal Congress averts shutdown after vaccine mandate fight MORE (S.D.) as Republican policy committee chairman; Sen. Lamar AlexanderLamar AlexanderMcConnell gets GOP wake-up call The Hill's Morning Report - Presented by Alibaba - Democrats return to disappointment on immigration Authorities link ex-Tennessee governor to killing of Jimmy Hoffa associate MORE (Tenn.) as GOP conference chairman; and Sen. John BarrassoJohn Anthony BarrassoCongress averts shutdown after vaccine mandate fight Sunday shows - Spotlight shifts to omicron variant Barrasso calls Biden's agenda 'Alice in Wonderland' logic: 'He's the Mad Hatter' MORE (Wyo.) as vice chairman of the GOP conference.