House Speaker vote: McCarthy clinches Speakership

Rep. Kevin McCarthy (R-Calif.) has clinched the Speakership.

The ]win came on the 15th ballot, after a long day and moments of drama and chaos on the House floor.

McCarthy garnered 216 votes. Democratic Leader Hakeem Jeffries (N.Y.) had 212 and six Republicans voted “present,” which lowered the number of votes McCarthy needed and handed him the Speaker’s gavel.

Follow along below for live updates from The Hill’s reporters:

Tags Chip Roy Hakeem Jeffries Kevin McCarthy Lauren Boebert Matt Gaetz

Copyright 2023 Nexstar Media Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

See all Hill.TV See all Video

Most Popular

Load more


See all Video