The 27 Republicans who voted with Democrats to block Trump from taking military action against Iran

The House on Friday passed an amendment to the National Defense Authorization Act (NDAA) to block the Trump administration from funding military action against Iran without congressional approval. 

The vote came amid rising tensions between Washington and Tehran as Iran surpassed the uranium enrichment limitations imposed by the Obama-era nuclear agreement. President Trump withdrew the U.S. from the pact in 2018, but until recently Iran had stayed within the deal’s bounds.

{mosads}“Iran better be careful. They’re treading on very dangerous territory. Iran of you listening, you better be careful,” Trump told reporters Friday.

The amendment, passed by a 251-170 vote, was part of Democrats’ efforts to get progressives’ support behind the NDAA after complaints that its $733 billion price tag is too high.

Most House Republicans opposed the measure, saying it could prevent Trump and the Pentagon from swiftly responding to threats emanating from Iran.

However, 27 Republicans broke rank to vote for the amendment.

“If my war-hungry colleagues — some of whom have already suggested that we invade Venezuela, North Korea and probably a few other countries before lunch time tomorrow — if they’re so certain in their case against Iran, let them bring their authorization to use military force against Iran to this very floor,” Rep. Matt Gaetz (R-Fla.), a close White House ally, said on the House floor. 

Here are the 27 House Republicans who voted for Friday’s amendment: 

Rep. Andy Biggs (Ariz.)

Rep. Ken Buck (Colo.)

Rep. Tim Burchett (Tenn.)

Rep. Michael Burgess (Texas)

Rep. Ben Cline (Va.)

Rep. Michael Cloud (Texas)

Rep. Tom Cole (Okla.)

Rep. James Comer (Ky.)

Rep. Warren Davidson (Ohio) 

Rep. Brian Fitzpatrick (Pa.) 

Rep. Matt Gaetz (Fla.)

Rep. Anthony Gonzalez (Ohio)

Rep. Paul Gosar (Ariz.) 

Rep. Morgan Griffith (Va.) 

Rep. Jody Hice (Ga.)

Rep. Trey Hollingsworth (Ind.)

Rep. Jim Jordan (Ohio)

Rep. Thomas Massie (Ky.)

Rep. Mark Meadows (N.C.)

Rep. Alex Mooney (W.Va.)

Rep. Tom Reed (N.Y.)

Rep. Francis Rooney (Fla.)

Rep. Chip Roy (Texas)

Rep. David Schweikert (Ariz.)

Rep. Fred Upton (Mich.) 

Rep. Roger Williams (Texas)

Rep. Ted Yoho (Fla.)

Tags Alex Mooney Anthony Gonzalez Ben Cline Brian Fitzpatrick Chip Roy David Schweikert Donald Trump Francis Rooney Fred Upton James Comer Jim Jordan Jody Hice Ken Buck Mark Meadows Matt Gaetz Michael Burgess Morgan Griffith Paul Gosar Roger Williams Ted Yoho Thomas Massie Tim Burchett Tom Cole Tom Reed Trey Hollingsworth Warren Davidson

Copyright 2023 Nexstar Media Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

See all Hill.TV See all Video

Most Popular

Load more


See all Video