House GOP lawmakers urge Senate to confirm Vought

Greg Nash

A group of House Republicans is calling on the Senate to officially confirm Russell Vought as the director of the Office of Management and Budget (OMB). 

The GOP lawmakers say Vought is qualified for the role and that the Senate should move to confirm him.

“Before he was the Acting Director of OMB, Mr. Vought served in the House of Representatives, the Senate, and as a public policy expert in the private sector. In all three roles, Mr. Vought has consistently advocated for a balanced budget, fiscal restraint, and family values,” they wrote in a letter.

The group went on to praise his leading role in helping construct the president’s annual budget requests, arguing he has demonstrated his credentials during his tenure as acting OMB director. 

Vought has been serving as acting OMB director since January 2019; he took over the responsibilities when Mick Mulvaney became President Trump’s acting chief of staff.

Mulvaney was recently replaced as chief of staff by former Rep. Mark Meadows (R-N.C.). 

The letter was led by Rep. Jim Banks (R-Ind.) and sent to Senate Budget Committee Chairman Mike Enzi (R-Wyo.) and Senate Homeland Security and Governmental Affairs Committee Chairman Ron Johnson (R-Wis.).

GOP Reps. Jodey Arrington (Texas), Andy Biggs (Ariz.), Ken Buck (Colo.), Ted Budd (N.C.), Michael Cloud (Texas), Warren Davidson (Ohio),  Jeff Duncan (S.C.), Ron Estes (Kan.), Matt Gaetz (Fla.), Mark Green (Tenn.), Jody Hice (Ga.), Richard Hudson (N.C.), Mike Johnson (La.), Jim Jordan (Ohio), Trent Kelly (Miss.),  Doug Lamborn (Colo.), Debbie Lesko (Ariz.), Alex Mooney (W.Va.), Ralph Norman (S.C.), Greg Pence (Ind.), Chip Roy (Texas), Jason Smith (Mo.), Greg Steube (Fla.), Mark Walker (N.C.) and Randy Weber (Texas) also signed the letter. 

Tags Alex Mooney Budget Chip Roy Donald Trump Doug Lamborn Greg Pence Greg Steube Jason Smith Jeff Duncan Jim Jordan Jodey Arrington Jody Hice Ken Buck Mark Green Mark Meadows Mark Walker Matt Gaetz Mick Mulvaney Mike Enzi Mike Johnson Ralph Norman Randy Weber Richard Hudson Ron Estes Ron Johnson Ted Budd Trent Kelly Warren Davidson
See all Hill.TV See all Video

Most Popular

Load more


See all Video