Pocan won’t seek another term as Progressive Caucus co-chair

Greg Nash

Rep. Mark Pocan (D-Wis.) said Tuesday that he won’t seek another term leading the Congressional Progressive Caucus, opening up a key position in House Democrats’ liberal wing in the next session of Congress that begins in January.

Pocan, who has served as co-chair since 2017, said he will continue serving as a co-chair of the Congressional Progressive Caucus (CPC) PAC, the group’s campaign arm.

He and Rep. Pramila Jayapal (D-Wash.) were elected as CPC co-chairs after the November 2018 elections, when Democrats won the House majority.

Pocan said in a statement that “it has been an honor to help lead our members to important victories, both inside the Capitol and electorally.”

Next in line to succeed Pocan as co-chair could be Rep. Ro Khanna (D-Calif.), who currently serves as first vice chair.

Khanna this week expressed interest in the latest $1.8 trillion coronavirus relief package offer from the Trump administration, while Speaker Nancy Pelosi (D-Calif.) is continuing to press for a more expansive deal closer to Democrats’ $2.2 trillion proposal.

“Make a deal & put the ball in McConnell court,” Khanna tweeted on Sunday.

The caucus also has 10 vice chairs: Reps. David Cicilline (D-R.I.), Katherine Clark (D-Mass.), Debbie Dingell (D-Mich.), Veronica Escobar (D-Texas), Ruben Gallego (D-Ariz.), Sheila Jackson Lee (D-Texas), Joe Neguse (D-Colo.), Donald Norcross (D-N.J.), Jan Schakowsky (D-Ill.) and Mark Takano (D-Calif.).

Cicilline, who leads House Democrats’ messaging arm, and Clark, the Democratic caucus vice chair, are both running for Assistant Speaker, the fourth-ranking slot in House Democratic leadership.

More than 90 House Democrats are currently members of the Congressional Progressive Caucus, which does not always vote as a bloc.

The members include prominent progressives such as Reps. Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez (D-N.Y.), Ilhan Omar (D-Minn.), Ayanna Pressley (D-Mass.) and Rashida Tlaib (D-Mich.) as well as some more moderate Democrats allied with Democratic leadership.

Tags Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez Ayanna Pressley Congressional Progressive Caucus David Cicilline Debbie Dingell Donald Norcross Ilhan Omar Jan Schakowsky Joe Neguse Katherine Clark Mark Pocan Mark Takano Nancy Pelosi Pramila Jayapal Rashida Tlaib Ro Khanna Ruben Gallego Sheila Jackson Lee Veronica Escobar
See all Hill.TV See all Video