Here are the GOP lawmakers censured by Republicans for impeaching Trump

Several House Republicans are taking heat from state and county GOP groups for voting to impeach former President Trump.

Ten GOP lawmakers joined all House Democrats last month in voting to impeach Trump, charging him with inciting the deadly mob attack on the Capitol.

Since then, at least six have been censured or rebuked by state or local Republican parties, with some now facing primary challenges for 2022.

Here are the Republicans who have been chastised by Republicans in their home state.

Rep. Jaime Herrera Beutler (Wash.)

The Washington State Republican Party publicly rebuked Herrera Beutler.

Rep. Liz Cheney (Wyo.)

Cheney was censured by the Wyoming Republican Party as well as 13 of the state’s 23 counties: Albany, Big Horn, Carbon, Cook, Fremont, Hot Springs, Johnson, Lincoln, Park, Sheridan, Sweetwater, Washakie and Weston.

Rep. Adam Kinzinger (Ill.)

The La Salle County Republican Central Committee censured Kinzinger, along with Iroquois County and Will County.

Peter Meijer (Mich.)

The Barry County and Calhoun County GOP censured Meijer.

Rep. Dan Newhouse (Wash.)

Newhouse was chastised by the Washington State Republican Party.

Rep. Tom Rice (S.C.)

The South Carolina Republican Party censured Rice.

Rep. Fred Upton (Mich.)

Upton has been censured by three county Republican parties: Allegan, Berrigan and Cass.

The other Republicans who voted to impeach Trump — Reps. Anthony Gonzalez (Ohio), John Katko (N.Y.) and David Valadao (Calif.) — have not been censured.

Updated on Feb. 23 at 3:45 p.m.

Tags Adam Kinzinger Anthony Gonzalez Dan Newhouse David Valadao Donald Trump Fred Upton Jaime Herrera Beutler John Katko Liz Cheney Peter Meijer Tom Rice
See all Hill.TV See all Video

Most Popular

Load more


See all Video